Blog Comments

Comment #1 – 1/24/2011
“HCG Diet” by Robin Merritt
Robin’s post immediately caught my attention. Why? Because I know of a good handful of people that have gone on this diet- all with great success stories. A friend of mine works at a salon in Collinsville where the recently started selling the drops. She was naming off all of these people that had tried the diet and responded with positive feedback. I do agree 500 calories a day is absolutely insane and I would have A LOT of trouble following that rule, but for people who are struggling with their weight and have nothing else to turn to I believe it would be worth a shot.

Comment #2 – 1/31/2011
“A Smile Goes A Long Way!” – Kalie McBride
I’m not going to lie, I attend the store Sephora quite frequently and know all of the employees by name. It has gotten to the point that sometimes I’ll enter the store not because I need to buy anything, but just to stand around and talk with the employees. Since the first time I stepped into that store they have been nothing but so incredibly friendly and seem genuinely happy to see me whenever I walk in! They are so willing to help and just seem so excited when they do. It’s so refreshing and uncommon to see that and it honestly doesn’t take much more then a friendly “hello!” and a genuine smile to brighten someones day.

Comment #3 – 2/7/2011
“lets stumble” by Keri Thierer
Keri’s article reminded me a lot of an application that I have on my phone called “Pulse”. “Pulse” is an application that gives you the option to recieve RSS feeds from specific websites that you choose, and you are also given the option to choose specific interests and “Pulse” will pick out RSS feeds to match those interests. After reading Keri’s article I typed the website into my browser to check it out for myself. The site very useful and makes it easy to share links and websites with your friends as well as helping you “stumble upon” websites that you would not normally be able to find. I think the website is a great idea and gives companies a way to benefit eachother by having a common topic.

Comment #4 – 2/14/2011
“Groupon and the Superbowl” – Brian Donahoe
I did my PRime Time on the exact issue that Brian wrote his blog post about.  Groupon’s intentions were clever, risky, and absolutely brilliant.  Whether the press that Groupon recieved was good or bad, it was press nonetheless.  The company was aware that they would recieve negative feedback for their ads, but figured that the negative feedback would be outweighed by positive outcomes.  Bravo, Groupon.  You definitely thought this plan through, and I believe you accomplished your goal 100%.

Comment #5 – 2/21/2011
“The End is Nigh, for Borders” – Tyler Voss
The idea of Borders closing makes me upset.  I was never interested in purchasing a Kindle or anything similar, for the sole reason that I LOVE having my own personal copy of a book.  I love being able to jot down my thoughts in the margins, underline favorite passages, and lending my copy to friends so that they could do the same.  Maybe I’m weird, but I love when my books start to become beat up and worn.  And honestly, of my favorite past times when I was in high school was going to Border’s and sitting in the cafe to study for exams

Comment #6 – 2/28/2011
“WHERE ARE THE PRICES GOING!!!” – Brittany Moore
Gas prices are absolutely ridiculous. Not only do I drive a gas guzzling SUV, but because of the make of my vehicle, my SUV will only take premium gas! Every time I fill up (which is about once a week) it costs me over $60. Gas is one of the main reasons I moved to an apartment in Edwardsville. I’m in Edwardsville daily for school, work and dance practice, so it only seemed like the best idea for me to move here instead of commuting 30 minutes from O’Fallon 2-3 times a day.

Comment #7 – 3/21/2011
”The future of social media” – Michael Shewmaker
Although it is nice to see social media keeping up with current trends and technology, I think surveys are a great way to recive opinions from the consumer’s. Surveys are a way for company’s to speak almost directly to their audience as to say, “Here are some options to choose from, what would you like to see us change?”. But, as long as the different companies maintain their social media sites and keep them up to date, the change could definitely be a positive thing.

Comment #8 – 3/28/2011
Facebook more popular than Google?” – Hailee Rummerfield
I believe it. There’s only one Facebook, but there are many different search engines available (Google, Yahoo, Dogpile, Bing, etc.). It is also true that many company’s use Facebook to get their name and information out to the public rather than paying the extra money to maintain a website. Although I believe there is more credibility attached to having an actual website than using Facebook and other social media sites to getting your company name out there on the internet, times are changing and the economy still sucks.

Comment #9 – 4/4/2011
“What’s your secret?” – Kalie McBride
I have been a huge fan of PostSecret for as long as I can remember. When I was in highschool I would go to the local Borders and just sit and read the books for hours. Every once in a while I would find postcards that people had placed inside of the books themselves. These books are not only highly entertaining, but can also be very therapeutical for some people (including myself). I love seeing people recognizing the beauty of Frank Warren’s idea.  I think he’s incredibly brilliant for coming up with the idea for this project.

Comment #10 – 4/11/2011
Farewell, blogs” – Tyler Voss
Amen, Tyler. I couldn’t agree more. About three of the authors of the original articles I blogged about contacted me saying “thanks” for re-blogging their articles, which I see is obviously helping me make connections in the field. But I also am fearful that, since I am new to blogging, these authors may view me as “amateur” and a “lousy blogger”, therefore being non-beneficial to me and my future career.

About calawre

I am a student at SIUE planning to major in Speech Communications-Public Relations, and minor in Mass Communications-TV/Radio and Theater & Dance. I am on the SIUE Dance Team.
This entry was posted in Blog Comments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

